An increasing number of people are adopting fasting as a lifestyle nowadays. Different people follow different fasting diets in line with their fitness goals or spiritual and religious beliefs. Fasting diets usually involve enough dietary restrictions to hamper your required daily nutrition intake. Therefore, it is important to incorporate a balance of the essential nutrients required by your body without breaking your fast. Most Indian households follow a fasting diet during various festivals. Most of these fasting diets include only vegetarian food items and abstinence from different non-vegetarian food items such as meat, fish, and eggs.

The struggle becomes real for people who follow a fitness-conscious and nutrition-driven lifestyle. Fortunately, it is possible to keep your nutrition in place by incorporating necessary veg supplements in your diet during festivals to ensure consuming well-balanced meals.

Can I Take Supplements While Fasting? How do Supplements Affect a Fasting Diet?

When you follow a fasting diet, your body starts adapting to the changes in your diet plan and undergoes certain metabolic changes. The decreased nutrition intake leads to reduced energy levels and mental focus.

Therefore, an ideal fasting diet should include a balance of carbohydrates, fats, proteins, vitamins, and minerals. The consumption of supplements during the fasting period is highly beneficial to overcome the lack of these nutrients in the body. A wide range of vegetarian supplements, such as veg protein bars and caffeine, which are fasting-friendly, are available on our website to make your fasting diet easy to follow and keep you going through the day.

Nutrition Supplements Less Likely to Break a Fast

Different supplements have different compositions. For example, some supplements might contain certain animal-derived or shellfish-derived ingredients such as carotene, bone meal, fish oil, gelatin, etc., which are not supposed to be consumed in a diet for fast. In a lot of households, consumption of these food items can lead to breaking your fast. Therefore, it is essential to watch out for these supplements to avoid breaking your fasting diet routine and gain the appropriate nutrients if you’re fasting.

Here are the seven best veg supplements that you can safely consume during festival seasons:

Whey Protein:

Fitness-conscious people who like to regularly go to the gym usually rely on a substantial amount of protein to maintain their muscular integrity. These people especially struggle to maintain the proper energy levels at the gym without the right nutrition during festive fasting. Therefore, it is essential to incorporate the right supplements to maintain the high protein intake necessary for the bodybuilding process, such as whey protein in your diet for fast. Whey protein is made from milk and milk derivatives. Therefore, whey protein is a safe and convenient vegetarian option to keep up with the high protein intake and maintain those six-pack abs even during the festive season.

Multivitamins:

Essential plant-based multivitamins such as zinc, iron, and B complex must be incorporated into your fasting diet to fill the nutrition gap. An extensive range of these vegetarian multivitamins in different flavors and sizes are available on our website to make the festive season a nourishing experience for you.

Creatine

Creatine is usually found in animal products. However, when combined with most supplements, creatine is synthesized from sarcosine and cyanamide. This altered form of synthesis makes creatine a vegetarian-friendly option for fasting purposes. In addition, creatine shakes and powders can be consumed before workouts to boost energy.

Fish and Algae Oil

Consumption of any non-vegetarian food items is strictly prohibited in most households during festivals. This list usually also includes seafood, leading to a deficiency of long-chain omega-3 fatty acids such as EPA (eicosapentaenoic acid) and DHA (docosahexaenoic acid) found abundantly in fish and shellfish. Fish and algae oil are great options to include in your fasting diet to ensure the consumption of these fatty acids. A fantastic vegetarian substitute in households that abstain from fish products is algae oil derived from algae, which has similar nutritional properties as seafood.

Probiotics and Prebiotics

Probiotics and prebiotics are mainly dairy-based and extremely important in maintaining a healthy digestive system. Less likely to break your fast, probiotics and prebiotics should be a part of your fasting diet. Check out our website for some of the best flavors of probiotics and prebiotics available in the market to make your gut happy.

Collagen

Collagen used in supplements is usually derived from the bone broth of pigs, beef, and fish. The need of the hour is to switch to plant-based collagen to maintain healthy connective tissues.

Caffeine

Many people struggle to make it to the gym for their regular workout sessions because of low energy levels when following a fasting diet plan during the festive season. The low energy levels are due to reduced carbohydrate and protein consumption. Caffeine is an excellent vegetarian supplement, especially for fitness freaks, to get that rush and boost your energy levels during your workouts.

Other fasting-friendly vegetarian supplements include:

Casein

Casein protein is another excellent choice of vegetarian supplements to maintain satiety levels for longer periods. Casein is a slow-digesting protein and provides a steady supply of amino acids to your body, helping you stay full for 6-8 hours.

Nuts

Nuts are rich in essential fats needed by the body and a great addition to the fasting diet. A few nuts, such as almonds, are a great addition to your breakfast to keep you full for longer.

Veg Protein Bar

This is a great snack to add to your protein intake and stay on track with your fasting regimen.

Supplements More Likely to Break a Fast

  • Non-vegetarian-based protein powder: Certain whey protein powders contain animal products such as chicken, which can disrupt your fasting diet during the festive season.
  • Gummy multivitamins: These multivitamins contain gelatin, an animal product.
  • Fish oil capsules: These are derived from oily fish, which is usually restricted during the festive season.

The Bottom Line

During the festive season, it is crucial to be mindful of which food items and their ingredients may or may not break your fast. There are plenty of vegetarian options for supplements available, making your festival fasting experience a nourishing one.

Spread the love